Stańczyk US Premiere

Danish guitarist Mikkel Andersen will play the US premiere of the guitar version of Marcin Stańczyk’s  Aftersounds at the University of Miami on November 13, 2015.

Marcin Stańczyk (b. Nov. 16, 1977) is a law graduate from the University of Łódź and completed studies in music theory and composition with Zygmunt Krauze at the Music Academy of Łódź. After graduating, he moved to Rome for 3-years postgraduate studies at the Accdemia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia with Ivan Fedele. He has participated in the Young Composers Meeting in Apeldoorn (Netherland); masterclasses with Klangforum Wien and Trilok Gurtu during La Biennale di Venezia (2007-2008); composition courses at Voix Nouvelles 2009; Summer Courses for New Music in Darmstadt (2010); and Jerwood Opera Writing Programme (2010-2011). As a composer he has won 10 international composers competitions in Poland, Italy, Netherland, Romania, Germany, Japan, China and the US, and has been recipient of numerous scholarships, from such institutions as: Polish Ministry of Culture and National Heritage (Young Poland 2007), Italian Government, Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt, Aldeburgh Centre of Music, Witold Lutosławski Society (2011 scholarship). He also participates in the Young Composers Program established by the Krzysztof Penderecki European Centre of Music (2007-2010). He works both at the Regional Administrative Court in Łódź as well as the Arthur Rubinstein Philharmonic Orchestra in Łódź and at the Academy Music in Łódź as a lecturer on contemporary compositional techniques and electronic music.

Friday, November 13, 2015 | 12:00 p.m.
University of Miami
S Dixie Hwy, Coral Gabels, Florida 33124

 [Source: press release]