On October 23, 2023, during the evening gala in the Warsaw Philharmonic Hall, the Koryfeusz Polish Music Awards were presented to this year’s winners. The honorary lifetime achievement award went to Irena Santor, considered the first lady of Polish song and a performer of many unforgettable hits on the Polish music scene.

Martyna Pastuszka became “The Person of the Year”–for performances at the most renowned early music festivals and concert halls in Europe, many outstanding artistic creations, initiating original musical events and consistently maintaining the position of the {oh!} Orchestra as one of the leading early music ensembles in the country and abroad.

The event of the year was the 16th Henryk Wieniawski International Violin Competition in Poznań–for the highest level of organization of one of the oldest and most prestigious violin competitions in the world. This year, the festival had over two hundred participants from thirty countries.

This year, violinist Wojciech Niedziółka became the “Discovery of the Year.” He was selected by the audience through a public online poll. Niedziółka is a Polish violinist with a thriving international career. He received a special award for the highest-ranked participant representing Poland at the 16th Henryk Wieniawski International Violin Competition.

The Koryfeusz Polish Music Award celebration gala was accompanied by a concert performed by saxophonist Paweł Gusnar, Marek Napiórkowski’s Jazz Trio with bass player Max Mucha and drummer Michał Bryndal, the Lutosławski Piano Duo, the Dagadana ensemble and the Quintessence brass ensemble–winners of the III International Polish Music Competition in Rzeszów. The audience also had a chance to hear the Polish Radio Choir under the baton of Szymon Bywalec and the AUKSO chamber orchestra conducted by Marek Moś.

The Koryfeusz Polish Music Awards are organized by the National Institute of Music and Dance [NIMiT]. This event was financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage. Additional sponsorship of the Honorary Lifetime Award came from the ZAiKS Society of Authors. Award-winners received statuettes designed by prof. Adam Myjak.

[Source: polmic.pl; Photo credit: Marta Ankiersztejn]