“Polish Music Too Little Known” in Katowice

The latest concert from the “Polish Music Too Little Known” series was held on June 14 in the Chamber Hall of the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra. Quartets by Władysław Żeleński and Krzysztof Penderecki were performed by Lucyna Fiedukiewicz – violin, Nikola Gajownik – violin, Elżbieta Mrożek-Loska – viola, and Łukasz Frant – cello.

Władysław Żeleński, who studied with Franciszek Mirecki in Kraków and with Berthold Damcki in Paris, is considered to be the most eminent composer of chamber music in the second half of the 19th century. He composed Quartet in A major, Op. 42 in 1880. The traditional four-movement work features a scherzo in the second movement, and each movement testifies to the composer’s passion for folk music.

Krzysztof Penderecki‘s String Quartet No. 3 premiered on November 21, 2008 at the National Philharmonic in Warsaw, at a concert for the composer’s 75th birthday. Penderecki revealed the unofficial subtitle of the composition to be “Leaves of an Unwritten Diary,” because the composition is a sentimental journey in time, a dialogue between an aged artist and the past.

June 14, 2018 | 7:30 p.m.
“Polish Music Too Little Known”

NOSPR Chamber Hall
plac Wojciecha Kilara 1, 40-202 Katowice, Poland
Info & Tickets: www.nospr.org.pl

[Source: polmic.pl]