Nehring Wins Rubinstein Competition

Polish pianist Szymon Nehring won the first prize at the 15th Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition, which brought together more than 30 pianists from all over the world. Nehrig also won the Yehuda and Dolinie Izrael Audience Award, the Junior Jury Prize, the Best Performer of a Chopin Piece Prize and the Advance Studies Prize.

The Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition in Tel Aviv is one of the most prestigious competitions for young pianists (ages 18-32). The jury, under the supervision of prof. Arie Vardiego, included Hui-Qiao Bao, Josef Bardanashvili, Michel Béroff, Peter Donohoe, Janina Fialkowska, Ian Hobson, Menahem Pressler, Eliso Virsaladze, Ramzi Yassa and Dina Yoffe. The “junior jury,” composed of finalists of the 1st International Arthur Rubinstein Youth Piano Competition in Beijing in 2016, also deliberated during the competition. This year’s competition was held from April 25 – May 11.