Bassem Akiki & Klaudiusz Baran

The latest opus by the distinguished Polish composer, Marta Ptaszyńska, will be world-premiered on Sunday, October 17. The concert will be held at the Witold Lutosławski Polish Radio Concert Studio in the Mokotów suburb of Warsaw. It will be carried live and also later rebroadcasted by Polish Radio, Program II.

Ptaszyńska’s Magiczna podróż [Magical Journey] is a concerto for accordion and chamber orchestra and Polish soloist Klaudiusz Baran (above right) will introduce this work to the public. Consisting of five sections—Andante misterioso, Allegretto, Vivo, Lento lugubre, and Allegro gioioso—Ptaszyńska’s concerto is estimated to be 15-18 minutes in length. Maestro Bassem Akiki (above left) will lead the Polish Radio Orchestra in Warsaw for the program, which will also include Akiki’s Huis Clos I & II, Christopher Willibald Gluck’s Don Juan ballet suite and selections for Mozart’s Don Giovanni arias arranged for wind octet.

The composer was commissioned by the Ministry of Culture, National Heritage and Sport from the funds for cultural promotion administered by the National Institute of Music and Dance.

Sunday, October 17 | 6:00 p.m.
Premiere of Ptaszyńska’s Magiczna podróż
Witold Lutosławski Polish Radio Concert Studio
ul. Z. Modzelewskiego 59, 00-977 Mokotów, Poland
Tickets & Info:,Koncert-Symfoniczny

[Sources:; Photo source (top):]