zwiazek kompozytorow polskich ZKP

On 17 March 2021 the Presidium of the Main Board of the Polish Composers’ Union (ZPK) awarded the Award of the Polish Composers’ Union for merits in the field of music education, as well as this year’s Honorary Award of the Polish Composers’ Union for contribution to the promotion of Polish music.

This year’s Honorary Awards went to Łukasz Borowicz, Lech Dzierżanowski, Agata Kielar-Długosz and Łukasz DługoszŁukasz Borowicz received the Honorary Award for reintroducing and promoting unjustly forgotten symphonic and operatic works of the 19th- and 20th-century Polish music. Lech Dzierżanowski – for taking up many publishing and concert projects that successfully bring back the work of Roman Palester to musical life and for inspiring many people and institutions to join these activities. Agata Kielar-Długosz and Łukasz Długosz – for expanding the contemporary flute repertoire, for stimulating composers’ creativity in this area, and promoting new Polish music.

The award was given to the State Primary Music School in Domosławice, represented by its headmaster Kazimierz Wojnicki and teachers Renāta Stivriņa and Grzegorz Majka – for an unprecedented program in the field of contemporary music, employed in large artistic projects.

The Music School in Domosławice was established in 2012 on the initiative of Kazimierz Wojnicki as the first institution of this type in the Brześć poviat – it offers classes in seven branches scattered within a radius of 50 kilometers. The school has developed its own, unique, integral way of music education. It combines the acquisition of performance skills and knowledge about early music as well as active participation in the creation of modern art. The teachers of theoretical subjects are three composers and a conductor. It is the annual production of a new piece for large vocal and instrumental ensemble, written by teachers-composers especially for their students, that became the most important element of the curriculum, integrating the entire teaching process and several hundred young musicians.

The award ceremony is planned during the 64th “Warsaw Autumn” International Festival of Contemporary Music at the headquarters of the Polish Composers’ Union in Warsaw.

[Source:, ]