On September 16, the committee of the 2014 Koryfeusz Polish Music Award announced the nominees in advance of the September 30 award ceremony. This year’s edition of this prestigious award was given under the theme of “Kolberg. (Re)interpretations.”

The nominees in the Music Personality of the Year Award category included saxophonist Paweł Gusnar, Artistic Director of Warsaw Philharmonic Maestro Jacek Kasprzyk, violinist and composer Ewelina Nowicka, jazz pianist and composer Włodek Pawlik, and composer and performer Agata Zubel. The Music Event of the Year Award nominees included the First International Zbigniew Seifert Jazz Violin Competition, the Rzeczpospolita Kolberga—Wszystkie Mazurki Świata [The Republic of Kolberg—All of the World’s Mazurkas] Festival, the 56th Warszawska Jesień Festival concert featuring Krystian Zimerman, the world premiere performance of Eugeniusz Knapik’s opera, Moby Dick, and the premiere of Mieczysław Wajnberg’s opera, Portret [Portrait].

During the September 30 gala at the Lutosławski Concert Studio in Warsaw, the following winners of the 2014 Koryfeusz Polish Music Award were announced:

  • Music Personality of the Year Award: Włodek Pawlik
  • Music Event of the Year: 2013 Warsaw Autumn Festival concert with Krystian Zimerman, organized by the Polish Composers’ Union and Institute of Music and Dance
  • Honorary Award: Prof. Mieczysław Tomaszewski

 [Sources: imit.org.pl, koryfeusz.org.pl, facebook.com]