Ptaszyńska’s Piano Concerto Premiere

On October 27, the Kalisz Philharmonic under the baton of Natalia Ponomarczuk will present the world premiere of Marta Ptaszyńska’s Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, with Clare Hammond as soloist. This is what the composer said about her work:

I finished the Concerto at the beginning of July 2017. Before starting to work on it, I considered at length its form and structure. In the end, I decided to write a piece that would oscillate between exceptionally brilliant piano concertos by Prokofiev and the super-rich color palette of Messiaen’s piano music. The Concerto is also written in such a way that it could be performed not only by the outstanding piano virtuosos but also by other pianists, beginning with high school and university students. The work is cast in three “traditional” movements, Allegro affetuosoLento mistico misteriosoand Moderato sostenuto – Presto appassionato. The first virtuoso and motoric movement is closest to the Prokofiev models. The second, in turn, is a showcase of flashing hues and brilliant sound colors, both in the solo and orchestra part. The third movement is a virtuoso dialogue of piano and orchestra that leads to a fiery Coda.

Entitled “Fortepianissimo,” the program will also include Roman Palester’s Concertino for piano and orchestra, as well as Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6.

October 27, 2017 | 7:30 p.m.
World premiere of Ptaszyńska’s Concerto for Piano and Orchestra

Kalisz Philharmonic Concert Hall
Al. Wolności 2, 62-800 Kalisz, Poland
Info & Tickets: