Moss and Górecki Premieres in Katowice

Two new works by Polish composers were premiered at the Silesian Philharmonic Hall in Katowice on December 1, 2017. The works premiered were Musique pour cordes by Piotr Moss and Concerto no. 2 for Flute and String Orchestra by Mikołaj Górecki. They were performed by the Silesian Chamber Orchestra with flutist Jadwiga Kotnowska, to whom Górecki’s newest work is dedicated, led by conductor Robert Kabara. The performance was part of the “Katowice Henryk Mikołaj Górecki Day” annual series of concerts.

According to the website of the Górecki’s publisher, PWM:

In examining the œuvre of Mikołaj Górecki, it seems that – despite his varied interests – he has a particular predilection for the string orchestre sound, examples of which are such pieces as the ‘Concerto-Notturno’ for Violin and String Orchestra from 2009 and the ‘Elegy’ for Cello and String Orchestra from 2015. In the case of ‘Flute Concerto no. 2’, the string orchestra sounds permits the solo part to be additionally highlighted. The composition displays the variety of colors and articulation possibilities of the instrument.

December 1, 2017
Katowice Henryk Miko
łaj Górecki Day: Premieres by M. Górecki & P. Moss
Silesian Philharmonic Hall
ul. Sokolska 2, 40-084 Katowice, Poland