World Premieres by New Music Orchestra

Co-organized and co-funded by the Institute of Music and Dance, the New Music Orchestra (OMN) will present a concert at the headquarters of the National Symphony Orchestra of Polish Radio (NOSPR), featuring world premieres of works by two young Polish composers, Wojciech Ziemowit Zych and Krzysztof Wołek, and Georg Friedrich Haas from Austria.

Cello Concerto by Krzysztof Wołek (b. 1976) was inspired by the idea that all art requires collision and conflict. This relationship is present not only among actors and directors but also between composers and performers: it is represented perfectly in the form of concerto, where a conflict between a soloist and the orchestra takes shape. Wołek’s Cello Concertowas written for its first performer, Jakob Kullberg.

The other piece to be world-premiered was written by Wojciech Ziemowit Zych (b. 1976), a teacher from the Academy of Music in Krakow, who focuses mainly on instrumental music. In his double concerto Drogi powietrza, Splątane Echa [Roads of the Air, Tangled Echoes] for contrabass flute in C, contrabass clarinet in B-flat, spatial amplification and chamber orchestra acoustically spaced out, the composer uses an atypical choice of solo instruments that bring to the fore a specific sound color in the work.

Sunday, April 9, 2017 | 6:00 p.m.
New Music Orchestra / Low Registers Concert: Zych & Wołek Premieres
National Symphony Orchestra of Polish Radio
plac Wojciecha Kilara 1, 40-202 Katowice
Tickets & Info: