Baczewska and Tan Dun in China

Polish pianist Magdalena Baczewska, violinist Sandy Cameron and cellist Zhao Jing will serve as soloists for two concerts in China featuring the music of Chinese composer Tan Dun. The composer will lead the Macau Orchestra in works from his scores for three martial arts movies—Crouching Tiger Concerto for Cello and OrchestraThe Triple Resurrection for Violin, Violoncello, Piano and OrchestraThe Banquet Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, and Hero Concerto for Violin and Orchestra.

World-renowned composer/conductor Tan Dun has had the honor of composing film music for three films by critically acclaimed directors: Ang Lee (Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon), Zhang Yimou (Hero), and Feng Xiaogang (The Banquet). Combining the ancient tradition of Chinese martial arts philosophy and visual arts, the films were all received with high praise worldwide. Dun demonstrates an ability to mix traditional Chinese sounds with Western orchestral styles, an appropriate approach to films with mixed origins. His Martial Arts Trilogy is pure beauty and cinematic drama. Scenes from the three films are played on the big screen while the orchestra performs the powerful scores live.

Tan Dun is a contemporary Chinese classical composer and conductor, most widely known for his scores for the movies “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon” and “Hero,” as well as composing music for the medal ceremonies at the 2008 Beijing Olympics. His works often incorporate audiovisual elements, including the use of instruments made from paper, water and stone. His work is often inspired by traditional Chinese theater and ritual performances. He earned widespread attention after composing the score for Ang Lee’s “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon” (2000), for which he won an Academy Award, a Grammy Award, and a BAFTA Award. In 2013, he was named a UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador.

May 7, 2016 | 8:00 p.m.
Tan Dun’s Martial Arts Trilogy with Magdalena Baczewska, piano
Guangzhou Opera House

May 9, 2016 | 8:00 p.m.
Tan Dun’s Martial Arts Trilogy with Magdalena Baczewska, piano
Shenzhen Poly Theater
Admission: 380 – 1,880 ¥

[Source: press release,]