Awards – February 2016

Swiatkiewicz Receives Passport Award

The 2015 “Passport” Awards were announced on January 12, 2016. This year’s nominees for the coveted award—given annually to scores of professionals by the weekly magazine Polityka since 1993—were the youngest batch in its over 20 year history. During the ceremony, held at the Grand Theatre of the Polish National Opera in Warsaw, many past winners of the award were on hand to announce and support the 2015 laureates.

Harpsichordist Marcin Świątkiewicz received the honor in the 2015 Classical Music category in recognition of his “sensitivity and musical erudition, brilliant interpretations and versatility, which allow him to contribute creativly both as an outstanding soloist as well as in Baroque ensembles in Poland and abroad.” Other artists nominated in the same category were singer Barbara Kinga Majewska and pianist Krzysztof Książek. Awards were also announced in the categories of Literature, Film, Theatre, Visual Arts, Stage, and Creator of Culture.


Winners of 2016 Musica Sacra Nova

On February 6, 2016 the jury of the 12th International Composition Competition “Musica Sacra Nova” gathered in Cambridge to select winning works out of 30 submitted applications. The jury was: Marian Borkowski (Poland) – chairman, Andrea Angelini (Italy), Vaclovas Augustinas (Lithuania), Don Vincenzo de Gregorio (Italy), Stephen Layton (Great Britain), Jaakko Mäntyjärvi (Finland), Jan Łukaszewski (Poland).

The prizes were awarded in 2 categories. All awarded compositions will be performed and recorded at the “Musica Sacra Nova” Festival in Brauweiler, Germany, and presented at the concerts in Cambridge, Vilnius and Gdańsk.

Choral category:

  • 1st prize – Szymon Godziemba-Trytek (Poland) for Beatus vir
  • 2nd prize – Aleksandra Chmielewska (Poland) for Veni Emmanuel
  • 3rd prize – Francisco José Carbonell Matarredona (Spain/USA) for O magnum misterium

Organ category:

  • 1st and 2nd prize – not awarded
  • 3rd prize – Michał Malec (Poland) for Meditation sur la Croix


YMFE Scholarships Awards

The results of the Yamaha Music Foundation of Europe 2016 Scholarship Competition in the “string instruments” category were announced on February 8, 2016. The event was hosted by the Ignacy Jan Paderewski Academy of Music in Poznań.

The scholarships were granted to:

  • Amelia Maszońska (violin), Ignacy Jan Paderewski Academy of Music in Poznań
  • Maciej Kułakowski (cello), Stanisław Moniuszko Academy of Music in Gdańsk
  • Sławomira Wilga (violin), Grażyna and Kiejstut Bacewicz Academy of Music in Łódź
  • Aleksander Daszkiewicz (violin), Academy of Music in Krakow.

The presentations of the candidates were evaluated by the jury: Prof. Łukasz Błaszczyk (Grażyna and Kiejstut Bacewicz Academy of Music in Łódź), Prof. Mariusz Derewecki (Ignacy Jan Paderewski Academy of Music in Poznań), Prof. Zdzisław Łapiński (Academy of Music in Krakow), Prof. Piotr Reichert (Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw), Prof. Leszek Sokołowski (Białystok Campus of the Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw).