Baird Young Composers’ Competition

Winners of the competition Aleksandra Kaca and Monika Dalach (center), with members of the jury, MKiDN Director General Jacek Olbrycht, ZKP President Jerzy Kornowicz and Alina Baird.

On June 15, 2015, the winners of the 56th edition of the Tadeusz Baird Competition for Young Composers were announced. The jury was composed of Jerzy Bauer – chairman, Zbigniew Baginski – secretary, Krzysztof Baculewski and Sławomir Czarnecki. Named for composer and pedagogue Tadeusz Baird, the competition is organized by the Polish Composers’ Union [ZKP] under the patronage of the composer’s widow, Alina Baird.

After hearing those pieces that qualified for the second stage of the competition, the jury awarded the Tadeusz Baird 1st Prize in the amount of $2,500 to composer Aleksandra Kaca for Smugi cienia for harp, piano and cello. In addition, the jury recognized Monika Dalach for Tick! – Time (Time is ticking) In memoriam H.M.G. for cello, harp and harpsichord.

The awards ceremony will take place during the festival “Warsaw Autumn” in September 2015.

[Sources:, Photo:]