On April 26, the winners of the 65th Jubilee Tadeusz Baird Competition for Young Composers were unveiled during the Competition’s final concert, which was held for the first time at the Baird Philharmonic in Zielona Góra. Members of the Competition Jury included the following distinguished composers: Grażyna Pstrokońska-Nawratil (chairwoman), Alicja Gronau, Rafał Kłoczko, Katarzyna Kwiecień-Długosz and Edward Sielicki.

The finalists were announced as follows, revealing the young composers who had up to that moment been anonymous to their judges and the audience:

  • 1st prize: Muzyka gestów by Jakub Jung
  • 2nd prize: Brzask by Jakub Borodziuk
  • 3rd prize: Folk Story by Bartosz Jawor
  • Honorable Mention: Ritorno by Magdalena Bobowik

Works of the finalists were premiered by the Philharmonic Orchestra with violinist Agata Szymczewska as soloist, conducted by Maciej Tomasiewicz. The Competition is organized by the Polish Composers’ Union (ZKP), and ZKP president Dr. Mieczysław Kominek was in attendence.

[Sources: polmic.pl, zkp.org.pl]