The Jury of the 62nd Tadeusz Baird Competition for Young Composers was comprised of: Olga Hans (chairwoman), Aldona Nawrocka (secretary), Marcin Bortnowski, Artur Kroschel and Justyna Kowalska-Lasoń. The jury listened to the following pieces, submitted anonymously: Isomorphic Reflection for 4 clarinets (composer pseudonym: Coal2), … Breathe for 4 violins (composer pseudonym: D.502) ), Grand Père for 4 trumpets (composer pseudonym: Lavage de cerveaux), Kanczendzong for 4 trumpets (composer pseudonym: Perseus), Secco for 4 clarinets (composer pseudonym: TotoXro), Co w lesie piszczy for 4 clarinets (composer pseudonym: XXX12321).

The Jury decided that the Tadeusz Baird Award should be divided as follows: the 1st prize was not awarded, while three 2nd prizes were awarded eq aequo to the following composers’ works:

  • Olgierd Juzala-Deprati… Breathe
  • Hubert ŻmudzkiKanczendzonga 
  • Alina DzięciołSecco

An honourable mention was awarded to Bogusz Lewandowski for Co w lesie piszczy.

The award ceremony will take place, if the pandemic situation allows, during the 64th “Warsaw Autumn” International Festival of Contemporary Music in September.

Congratulations to the winners!

[Source: POLMIC]