“Usually hidden behind their sounds, giving the floor to the performers of their works, during the Festival of Premieres composers are in the center of attention. Celebrating their creativity and courage to confront us with habits, to provoke, challenge and surprise us” – emphasizes Ewa Bogusz-Moor.

In 2021, the Festival of Premieres will be held with the participation of the audience and in the form of live broadcasts on the Internet. It will be divided into two parts: the spring portion, from 18 – 25 April, and the autumn one, scheduled for October and November.

Organized by the Polish Radio National Symphony Orchestra (NOSPR) in Katowice, the Festival will feature new works by Cezary Duchnowski, Marta Śniady, Mikołaj Laskowski, Aleksander Nowak, Karol Nepelski, and many other great composers whose works will be performed for the first time.

This year, composers will take up themes related to the theatricality of music, the complex network of connections between the elements and characters that make up the stage spectacle. For example, Mikołaj Laskowski will take a new look at the relationship between a musician and an instrument. The hero of the artistic installation, View by Barbara Kinga Majewska will be one of the scenographic elements—a backdrop to Wagner’s opera. The installation will be presented starting on 18 April in the NOSPR foyer.

The program will also include works with references to literature. In autumn, the youngest music lovers will watch a video opera by Jerzy Kornowicz with a libretto by Michał Rusinek. During the final concert of the festival, performed by the excellent Klangforum Wien orchestra conducted by Swiss conductor Titus Engel, audiences will hear a new piece by Cezary Duchnowski, inspired by the works of Stanisław Lem.

18 to 25 April | Times Vary
9th Festival of Premieres “Polish Modern Music”
Online Live Broadcast
Tickets: https://www.bilety24.pl/koncert/9-festiwal-prawykonan-polska-muzyka-najnowsza-nospr-franck-ollu-64012
Event Program: www.nospr.org.pl

[Source: polmic.pl ]