On 18 March 2021, the Jury of the Professor Hieronim Feicht Competition for the Best Doctoral Dissertation awarded the authors of works in the field of musicology and music theory.

The annual Competition is open to musicologists and music theorists who are under 40 on the day of submitting their work. The aim of the award is to promote the scientific achievements of musicologists and music theorists from all academic centers in Poland (they do not have to be members of the Polish Composers’ Union), encourage them to undertake musicological research, integrate the community, and consolidate the research tradition associated with the figure of Rev. Prof. Hieronim Feicht.

The jury of this year’s Competition, consisting of: Prof. Dr hab Paweł Gancarczyk, prof. IS PAN (chairman), Prof. Dr hab Teresa Malecka, Prof. Dr hab. Remigiusz Pośpiech, Prof. Dr hab hab. Violetta Przech, Prof. Dr hab hab. Zbigniew Skowron, Prof. Dr hab hab. Małgorzata Woźna-Stankiewicz, and Dr hab. Beata Bolesławska-Lewandowska (chairman of the Musicologists’ Section of the Polish Composers’ Union), decided to award the Rev. Prof. Hieronim Feicht Award ex equo to:

The Competition Jury also decided to award the honorable mention to Magdalena Oliferko for the work Julian Fontana – niedoceniony artysta z najbliższego otoczenia Chopina [Julian Fontana – an Underestimated Artist from the Chopin’s Closest Circle] (unpublished doctoral dissertation, University of Warsaw, Université de Genève 2019).

[Source: polmic.pl]