On December 4, the GENERATIONS XX concert will be held in the Polish Radio’s Witold Lutosławski Concert Studio. This year’s edition of the GENERATIONS series cultivates the ideas of “Founding-fathers” with a program representing artists from different generations – the difference in age reaches almost 50 years! Among this group there are already well-known, established composers as well as younger people who just started their careers. The concert is the outcome of a good cooperation between Polish Composers Union [ZKP], Authors Association [ZAiKS], Polish Radio and The Ministry of Culture.

While upholding the founders’ ideas of different generations of Polish composers coming together, the 20th edition GENERATIONS presents another addition: a beautiful piece by a Slovenian composer Jana Kmitova, who is celebrating her 40th birthday this year. It is the outcome of a long cooperation and friendship between the Polish Composers’ Union, and more precisely the Polish Music Information Center POLMIC, and Olga Smetanova –the long-standing director of the Slavic Music Information Center and currently the secretary general of ISCM. Cooperating with other countries is not new to GENERATIONS because there has already been Polish-Netherlandic and Polish-German concerts. Today’s GENERATIONS are Polish-Slavic.

The program of the concert will feature the world premieres of Kolonia Karna for symphony orchestra, actor, two female voices to text by Franz Kafka (2011) by Wojciech BŁAŻEJCZYK (1981, above right) and Fjör-ður for symphony orchestra(2016) by Michał MOC (1977, above left). The latter piece by Moc was commissioned by the Polish Composers Union, funded by Ministry of Culture and National Heritage through the “Collections –Composing Commissions” program administered by IMiT. Other works on the program are: Joanna BRUZDOWICZ (1943)—Il Pianto del Phoenix for cello and symphony orchestra (1994), Krzysztof PENDERECKI (1933—Partita for harpsichord, electric guitar, bass guitar, harp and orchestra (1971-1991), and Jana KMITOWA (1976)—Three Psalm Fragments for orchestra (2007).

Performers for the evening are: Joanna Freszel – soprano, Marta Grzywacz – soprano, Bartosz Koziak – cello, Piotr Pieron – actor and baritone, Wojciech Gumiński – bass guitar, Łukasz Owczynnikow – double bass, Anna Sikorzak-Olek – harp, Mateusz Szemraj– electric guitar, Marcin Świątkiewicz – harpsichord, and the Polish Radio Orchestra with Wojciech Michniewski – conductor.

December 4, 2016 | 7:00 p.m.
Witold Lutosławski Concert Studio
ul. Modzelewskiego 59, 00-977 Warsaw
Admission: FREE
Info: www.zkp.org.pl

[Source: zkp.org.pl]