Winners of the 2nd Krzysztof Penderecki Int’l Competition for Young Composers

On March 11, 2019, the Jury of the Second Krzysztof Penderecki International Competition for Young Composers in Kraków selected the winners of the competition. 37 scores from Armenia, Austria, Chile, China, Germany, the Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Hong Kong, Canada, Israel, South Korea, Poland, Slovakia, USA, Great Britain and Italy were submitted, 5 of which were rejected due to non-compliance with rules. The scores were submitted anonymously and the names of winners were revealed only after the winners were chosen.

The jury was composed of: Marcel Chyrzyński (chairman), Zbigniew Bargielski, Ivan Buffa (Slovakia), Justyna Duda-Krane (Quartet Dafo) and Wojciech Widłak. The secretary of the Contest was Aleksandra Patalas.

The jury, after reviewing 32 scores, decided to award the Main Prize (USD $1,000) to Szepty by Olgierd Juzala-Deprati from Poland. In addition, the Jury decided to award three honorable distinctions for the works: Interpolations by Otto Wanke from Austria, De profundis by Andrzej Ojczenasz from Poland and San-Guei by Xinyang Wang from China.

The award presentation and premiere of the winner’s work will take place during the concert on May 15, 2019 in the “Florianka” Auditorium of the Academy of Music in Kraków, as part of the 31st International Festival of Kraków Composers, performed by the Dafo String Quartet from Poland.