Winners of the 59th Tadeusz Baird Young Composers Competition

zwiazek kompozytorow polskich ZKP

The final concert of ZKP’s 59th Tadeusz Baird Young Composers’ Competition was held on June 14 at the Warsaw headquarters of Polish Music Editions (PWM).

The jury consisted of leading composers Marta Ptaszyńska (chair), Ignacy Zalewski (secretary), Sławomir Kaczorowski, Leszek Lorent and Sławomir Zamuszko. From the four works that qualified for the second stage—Sonata for viola and percussion (pen name: That., Fraszki durbaszki (pen name: Frapuccino), Landscape Out of Time (pen name: RIFF66TOY4JPY), From the cycle Study in scarlet – Serpentinato (emblem Klapancjusz)—the jury named the following winners:

  • Tadeusz Baird Award ($2,500): From the cycle Study in scarlet – Serpentinato for viola and percussion with a wandering waterphone by Kamil Kruk
  • Distinction: Sonata for viola and percussion by Filip Sporniak

The awards ceremony will take place in September during the prestigious Warsaw Autumn Festival.