15th International Henryk Wieniawski Competition

On October 8-23, the 15th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition was held in Poznań, under the honorary patronage of the President of the Republic of Poland Andrzej Duda. This year’s participants have been selected by the chairman of the competition jury, world-famous violinist and conductor Maxim Vengerov, from amongst over 250 applicants representing over 50 countries, including Japan, Korea, Canada, USA, Ukraine, Israel, Germany, Russia, China, Georgia, France, New Zealand, Kazakhstan and Azerbaijan. Of the 44 violinists that competed for the top awards, ten represented Poland.

The event opened on October 8 with a concert by Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen under the baton of Krzysztof Penderecki, featuring Soyoung Yoon (winner of the 2011 Competition) as the soloist in Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D major Op. 61. The competition consisted of four stages open to the public, then the awards were presented during a Gala Concert on October 23 when the 1st prize winner gave a performance of his stage 4 concerto alongside the T. Szeligowski Poznań Philharmonic Orchestra.

2016 Wieniawski Violin Competition winners:

  • 1st Prize: Veriko TCHUMBURIDZE, Georgia/Turkey (30,000 Euro)
  • 2nd Prize ex aequoBomsori KIM, South Korea and Seiji OKAMOTO, Japan (20,000 Euro each)
  • 4th Prize: Luke HSU, USA (10,000 Euro)
  • 5th Prize: Richard LIN, Taiwan/USA (10,000 Euro)
  • 6th Prize: Maria WŁOSZCZOWSKA, Poland (5,000 Euro)
  • 7th Prize: Ryosuke SUHO, Japan (5,000 Euro)

Prize-winners will also perform on October 25 with the Wrocław Philharmonic Orchestra at the National Forum of Music, as well as on November 4 with the Polish Baltic Philharmonic in Gdańsk.

November 4, 2016 | 7:00 p.m.
Wieniawski Competition Winners Tchumburidze, Kim and Włoszczowska Perform in Gdańsk
Chopin Polish Baltic Philharmonic
ul. Ołowianka 1, 80-751 Gdańsk
Info & Tickets: www.filharmonia.gda.pl or www.bilety24.pl

[Source: polmic.pl]