Composer Alive: Poland Presents Stulgińska Premiere

Access Contemporary Music (ACM) has teamed up with the Polish Consulate and 98.7 WFMT to celebrate the vibrant legacy of Polish classical music in Chicago. Held on April 10, the concert presents music by some of the most esteemed living composers in Poland today, including Krzysztof Penderecki, and the culmination of an exciting collaboration with Warsaw composer Agnieszka Stulgińska. As a part of their annual Composer Alive project, Stulgińska will be present for the World Premiere of her new piece Dance With my Breath written especially for ACM and performed by ACM’s Palomar Ensemble.

In keeping with the Composer Alive format, Stulgińska wrote the new piece in three installments for the Palomar Ensemble to perform and record between January and March. After having collaborated with Palomar over email and video throughout the process, the April 10 premiere will be the final step in the creation and presentation of this new work.

Also on the program: Moon Flowers by Marta Ptaszyńska, In C by Marcel Chyrzyński, Quartet for Clarinet and String Trio by Krzysztof Penderecki, Seven One Minute Waltzes by Alicja Gronau, Shades of Ice by Agata Zubel and Quatour pour la naissance by Zygmunt Krauze

Friday, April 10 at 7:00 PM
Composer Alive: Poland – Agnieszka Stulgińska World Premiere
Copernicus Center Annex
5216 W Lawrence Ave, Chicago, IL 60630
Tickets: $20, $8 students and seniors
Info & Tickets: or

[Sources: press release from,,]