The USC Polish Music Center presents the Paderewski Lecture-Recital, an annual concert event that commemorates pianist and composer Ignacy Jan Paderewski by spotlighting current achievements in Polish music. This year marks the anniversaries of several leading Polish composers: Witold Lutosławski, Szymon Laks, Krzysztof Meyer, Joanna Bruzdowicz, Henryk Mikołaj Górecki, Marta Ptaszyńska, and Krzysztof Penderecki. The 2023 Paderewski Lecture-Recital celebrates these milestones with a concert of these composers’ works, focusing on those held in the PMC’s invaluable Manuscript Collection.

This culturally rich program will be performed by outstanding members of the USC Thornton School of Music, including the USC Brass Quintet and Winds & Percussion faculty member Doug Tornquist, oboist Sonia Matheus, pianist Seoyon MacDonald, and the Thornton String Quartet (view full program and biographies here). The evening will also include a presentation illustrating the rare holdings of the Polish Music Center’s Manuscript Collection, given by PMC Director and Curator, Marek Zebrowski.

This year’s event is held in collaboration with Pasadena Presbyterian Church, allowing us to present the same program twice on different sides of town. Please join us on Saturday, October 7 at 7:30 p.m. in Pasadena and Sunday, October 8 at 7:00 p.m. at USC in Downtown Los Angeles.

Saturday, October 7, 2023 | 7:30 p.m.
Pasadena Presbyterian Church
585 E Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91101 (map)
FREE Admission
Parking & other details at

Sunday, October 8, 2023 | 7:00 p.m.
USC Newman Recital Hall
3616 Trousdale Pkwy, Los Angeles, CA (map)
FREE admission, no RSVP required
Campus Parking: $4/hr or $20/day (McCarthy Way Structure)
If you require assistance between parking and venue, please call 213-764-4977

Both concerts will be followed by a reception.


(View / print full program here)

Mini-uwertura [Mini-Overture] for brass quintet (1982) – Witold Lutosławski

Logan Anderson & Amy Millesen, Trumpets | Jean Smith, Horn
Stephen Hannan, Trombone | Derek Zimmerman, Tuba

Kvartetto [String Quartet No. 1] (1960) – Krzysztof Penderecki

Agatha Belvin & Veronika Manchur, Violin
Gloria Choi, Viola | Joseph Kim, Cello

Intermezzo dedicated to Stefan and Wanda Wilk for solo piano (1997) – Henryk Mikołaj Górecki

Seoyon MacDonald, Piano

Pezzo capriccioso for oboe and piano (1982) – Krzysztof Meyer

Seoyon MacDonald, Piano | Sonia Matheus, Oboe

Two Poems for tuba (1975) – Marta Ptaszyńska

Doug Tornquist, Tuba

String Quartet No. 3 “On Polish Folk Themes” (1946) – Szymon Laks

Agatha Belvin & Veronika Manchur, Violins
Gloria Choi, Viola | Joseph Kim, Cello

(View / print full program here)